Posted in: news

14th June 2018

The B Team Welcomes New CEO, Chair and Vice-Chair

June 14, 2018, New York: The B Team has today announced new appointments to its Executive Leadership Team. Halla Tómasdóttir, former Presidential candidate of Iceland, a successful entrepreneur and an advocate for principled leadership and gender balance, will join the organization as CEO on August 1, 2018.

Since its launch in 2013, The B Team’s founding group of business and civil society leaders has worked together to catalyze a growing movement; leading by example in their own organisations and using their collective voice to address systemic solutions. Over the last five years the organization has championed ambitious action on climate change and the SDGs, advocated for good governance and transparency including the development of responsible tax principles for business and mobilized the private sector to take a stand for global human rights.

The B Team also announced the transition of Board Chairs in accordance with organizational bylaws. Sir Richard Branson, Co-Founder and Co-Chair, and Jochen Zeitz, Co-Founder and Co-and Executive Chair, handed over the role of Chair to Paul Polman, CEO of Unilever and Vice-Chair to Sharan Burrow, General Secretary of the International Trade Union Confederation. This transition will also be effective August 1, 2018.Welcoming Ms. Tómasdóttir to the team, Co-Founder Sir Richard Branson said, “The world has changed in recent years, and we’re now facing very different challenges. With Halla Tómasdóttir at the helm of a strong team, and backed by the leadership of Paul Polman and Sharan Burrow, The B Team is ready to make new, bold strides toward a just and sustainable future.”

“The B Team’s impact on the world over the past five years has been impressive and invaluable. From the role they have played in raising the bar for business ambition on climate, to major policy wins in the fight against corruption and protection of human rights, the power of a purpose-driven and principled private sector is now undeniable,” Ms. Tómasdóttir said, “I can’t imagine a more important quest than to help drive momentum toward the solutions our world desperately needs and deserves—now and in the years to come.”

“It’s been an honor to be Co-Founder and Co-and Executive Chair of The B Team for the last five years as we’ve grown into an internationally respected organization that is having significant impact and making great changes in the world,” said Mr. Zeitz, “Under our new leadership I’m positive that we will only continue to expand and prosper, and I look forward to ushering in this new, exciting era for The B Team.”

“I am honored to be appointed as Chair and look forward to continued collaboration with my fellow B Team Leaders to build a more sustainable and fairer economy that serves all,” Mr. Polman said, “Under Richard’s and Jochen’s leadership, The B Team has been instrumental on influencing key issues and advocating for responsible business models. There continues to be a clear need for this and The B Team can help embolden others to step up and step in."

Ms. Burrow echoed the sentiment and said, “The world needs a new leadership model based on a dialogue that involves business, trade unions, civil society and government. Working with leaders like Paul, I am confident we can help to achieve the SDGs and the Paris Climate Agreement.”


To arrange an interview or for more information, please contact Tyler Zang via (New York).

About The B Team

The B Team is a not-for-profit initiative formed by a global group of business leaders to catalyse a better way of doing business for the wellbeing of people and the planet.

Founded in the belief that the private sector can, and must, redefine both its responsibilities and its own terms of success, The B Team is developing a new, sustainable model for business centered on concerted, positive action that will ensure business becomes a driving force for social, environmental and economic benefit.

The B Team was co-founded by Sir Richard Branson and Jochen Zeitz, and includes Leaders Oliver Bäte, Marc Benioff, Sharan Burrow, Kathy Calvin, Bob Collymore, David Crane, Christiana Figueres, Mats Granryd, Arianna Huffington, Dr. Gro Harlem Brundtland, Dr. Mo Ibrahim, Yolanda Kakabadse, Guilherme Leal, Andrew Liveris, Arif Naqvi, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, François-Henri Pinault, Paul Polman, Mary Robinson, Ratan Tata, Zhang Yue and Professor Muhammad Yunus.