COP28 / Neville Hopwood

Posted in: news

8th December 2023

The Transformation is Unstoppable

As COP28 enters its second week, over 2,000 signatories and counting from across business, finance, philanthropy, politics, academia and civil society join forces to call on Sultan Al Jaber and all Parties to deliver a 1.5C aligned outcome in response to the Global Stocktake - because later is too late.

Interested in joining team courage? Enter your details

Dear COP28 President Sultan Al Jaber,

Please see below a letter signed by these signatories.

December 8, 2023, Dubai:

As we enter the final days of COP28, we are at a tipping point.

The world and its people need the strongest possible outcome to keep 1.5 degrees within reach. But delivering on this historic task requires us to act like a team.

The signals of transformation and opportunity across sectors and society are all around us. At the same time, the climate emergency is biting harder than ever. It’s up to us to seize this opportunity – because what is achieved here in Dubai must mark a legacy moment which determines the fate of our future generations.

We – CEOs, mayors, governors, investors, Indigenous peoples, health professionals, young people, faith leaders, scientists, athletes and more – stand in courage and resolve with the COP28 President and all Parties in bringing us together behind a rapid response plan to the Global Stocktake.

To reach this positive tipping point, we know we need the following:

  • An orderly phase out of all fossil fuels in a just & equitable way, in line with a 1.5C trajectory – whilst ensuring the tripling of global renewable energy capacity by 2030 from 2022 levels and the doubling of energy efficiency
  • The enabling environment to scale up and shift public and private finance, with developed countries taking the lead in action and support; putting a price on carbon and tripling investments for renewable energy
  • The halt and reversal of deforestation and land degradation as well as biodiversity & other ecosystem loss by 2030 and safeguarding the territories of indigenous peoples; ensure resilient food systems and deliver a strong global goal on adaptation

These outcomes must be supported by the implementation and ratcheting of Nationally Determined Contributions and National Adaptation Plans well before COP30 in 2025 which align with 1.5C and incorporate multi-stakeholder efforts within them.

Later is too late.


Click here to see the full list of signatories.

Notable Signatories

25+ global leaders
Adair Turner
Bertrand Piccard
Carolina Schmidt
Christiana Figueres
Dr Mo Ibrahim
Gina McCarthy
Gonzalo Muñoz
Graça Machel
Halla Tómasdóttir
Helen Clark
Hindou Omarou Ibrahim
Izabella Teixeira
Jacinda Ardern
Jane Goodall, PhD, DBE
Laurence Tubiana
Laurene Powell Jobs
Manuel Pulgar Vidal
Mary Robinson
Nigel Topping
Pat Mitchell
Paul Polman
Rebecca Solnit
Ricardo Lagos
Van Jones
Wanjira Mathai
Yolanda Kakabadse


Dia Mirza
Ellie Goulding
Jane Fonda
Mark Ruffalo
Oliver Jeffers
Pedro Pascal
Susan Sarandon

400+ businesses inc. CEOs from:

Alistair Phillips-Davies, SSE plc
André Hoffmann, Roche Holding AG
Andrew Forrest, Fortescue
Angela Cretu, Avon
Antoine de Saint Affrique, Danone
Arianna Huffington, Thrive Global
Bob Wheeler, Airstream Inc.
Boudewijn Beerkens, COFRA Holding AG
Dara Khosrowshahi, UBER
Dolf van den Brink, Heineken
Ester Baiget, Novozymes
Fábio Colletti Barbosa, Natura &Co
Geoff van Sonsbeeck, House of Baukjen
Greg Jackson, Octopus Energy
Hamdi Ulukaya, Chobani
Ilham Kadri, Syensqo
Jesper Brodin, Ingka Group I IKEA
Jochen Zeitz, Harley-Davidson, Inc.
Jon Abrahamsson Ring (Inter IKEA Group)
José Manuel Entrecanales, Acciona S.A. & Acciona Energía S.A.
Joseph D. Kenner, Greyston
Marc Benioff, Salesforce
Mark Schneider, Nestlé
Max Koeune, McCain Foods
Paddy Hayes, ESB
Peter Ndegwa, Safaricom PLC
Roy Jakobs, Royal Philips
Ryan Gellert, Patagonia
Sir Richard Branson, Virgin Group
Vincent Clerc, A.P. Moller – Maersk

Subnational leaders:

Anne Hidalgo (Mayor, Paris)
Bruce Harrell (Mayor, Seattle)
Haris Doukas, (Mayor-elect, Athens)
LaToya Cantrell (Mayor, New Orleans)
Lauren McLean (Mayor, Boise)
Sadiq Khan (Mayor, London)
Sally Capp, (Mayor, Melbourne)
Wade Crowfoot, (California's Natural Resources Secretary)
Yvonne Aki Sawyer (Mayor, Freetown)

40+ finance leaders inc.

Anjali Viswamohanan, AIGCC
David Atkin, PRI
Dawn Lippert, Elemental Excelerator
Günther Thallinger, Net Zero Asset Owner Alliance
Hiro Mizuno, Good Steward Partners, LLC
Jeroen Rijpkema, Triodos Bank
Juan Carlos Mora Uribe, Bancolombia
Mafalda Duarte, Green Climate Fund
Nili Gilbert, David Rockefeller Fund
Priscilla Sims Brown, Amalgamated Bank
Stephanie Pfeiffer, IIGCC

Major Philanthropists

Andrew Steer, Bezos Earth Fund
Kate Hampton, CIFF
Leslie Johnson, Laudes
Per Heggenes, IKEA Foundation
Raj Shah, Rockefeller Foundation

400+ NGOs inc. CEOs from

Ani Dasgupta, World Resources Institute
Aron Cramer, BSR
Bianca Pitt, SHE Changes Climate
Catherine Abreu, Destination Zero
Climate - KIC
Danielle Morley, Bonsucro
Dr David McNair,
Eliot Whittington, CISL-CLG
Erin Billman, Science Based Targets Network
Eva Zabey, Business for Nature
Gail Gallie, Project Everyone
Helen Mountford, ClimateWorks Foundation
Jane Madgwick, Global Commons Alliance
Jess Teutonico, We Are Family Foundation
Kirsten Schuijt, WWF (World Wide Fund for Nature)
Laura Clarke, ClientEarth
Manish Bapna, NRDC
Maria Mendiluce, We Mean Business Coalition
Maria Netto, Instituto Clima e Sociedade
Mark Watts, C40 Cities
May Boeve,
Mindy Lubber, Ceres
Mohamed Adow, PowerShift Africa
Nat Keohane, C2ES
Pat Mitchell, Project Dandelion
Peter Bakker, WBCSD
Peter Seligmann, Nia Tero
Sanda Ojiambo, UN Global Compact
Sandrine Dixson, Club of Rome
Smart Freight Centre
Spanish Green Growth Group
Tzeporah Berman, Fossil Fuel Non Proliferation Treaty
Zahid Torres-Rahman, Business Fights Poverty

70+ scientists

Ayana Elizabeth Johnson
Cristina Mittermeier
Gail Whiteman
Johan Rockström
Katharine Hayhoe
Paul Nicklen

Global Youth Leaders

Ayisha Siddiqua
Clara Tomé
Clover Hogan
Helena Gualinga
Jerome Foster II
Joshua Amponsem
Luisa Neubauer
Vanessa Nakate
Xiye Bastida

66 faith leaders inc.

Fletcher Harper, Green Faith
Lorna Gold, Faith Invest
James Shri Bhagwan, Pacific Conference of Churches
Tomás Insua, Laudato Si Movement